Ay Caramba! Nachos!

I am a girl who loves nachos. Some people crave chocolate and sweets – I crave nachos. Well I always crave salty treats but that’s just because I’m not that into sweets. One thing that I have struggled with is finding a way of making nachos that is healthy, satisfying and not going to murder my calorie intake. I now present you with my version of nachos, my spin on them being “healthy”.

After I present the recipe, I will give you some suggestions that I often incorporate to lower their caloric content as well. I think that it is important to ad lib your recipe and make it your own though – that will really impress your friends.

Serves: 2-3 if it is a main meal. 4-6 if it is a shared snack.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 bag of whole wheat nacho chips (I like the Tostitos brand)
  • 1/2 a can of black beans (strained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup of cherry tomatoes (your choice to add more) diced or halved
  • 1/2 red pepper and 1/2 green pepper diced up
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of Chilli Powder (the Clubhouse brand has zero calories. If you are feeling adventurous, add more!)
  • 1 cob of corn – Boiled and corn shaved off (or if it isn’t summer, just use 1 cup of frozen corn)
  • A dash of cayenne pepper
  • 1 and 1/2 cups of spinach diced up
  • Salsa (I think the amount remains up to you – some people are not down with soggy chips)
  • Olives, jalapenos and hot peppers sprinkled on top are optional
  • Grated Marble Cheese or daiya cheese to make this vegan
  • Avocado slices are optional but oh so delicious.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

  • Step 1: In a large pan heated with olive oil. On medium heat, cook black beans, corn, green and red peppers with chilli powder and cayenne for 5-10 minutes or until they are a little brown or your desired outcome.
  • Step 2: On a large flat pan spread out the nacho chips. Place spinach and tomatoes on top.
  • Step 3: Spread the salsa as you like it on top of those toppings.
  • Step 4: If you want to put on olives (my fave!), jalapenos or hot peppers; place them on top now.
  • Step 5: Take your black bean and corn mixture and spread it on top of the nachos.
  • Step 6: Now spread your cheese on top, put as much or as little as you like. Though, I recommend about 1-2 cups of grated cheese and no more as it is quite fattening.
  • Step 7: Place the tray in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Make sure that you keep checking on them and take them out once the chips start to turn a golden brown.
  • Step 8: Eat!Image

I love eating these nachos about an hour after a really tough workout or long run. They contain all 4 food groups. If you are worried about the calories, I would put on half of the cheese or no cheese at all. You can also use soy cheese to make these nachos vegan. I love to add a little spicy kick to these as spice is good for revving up your metabolism.

You can add more veggies to them if you’d like. Perhaps some different kinds of peppers. I like to put on cherry tomatoes but regular or roma ones would work as well. Let me know what you add to them!

Hopefully you will feel like Homer in his nacho hat after you have eaten these…

Image

My boyfriend isn’t even a vegetarian and he loves eating this dinner with me – although it’s nachos, so what’s not to like? It’s also a great sharing plate for when friends come over. It really takes about 25 minutes to prep plus the 10-15 to cook. It is a pretty simple, quick, easy and quasi-healthy dinner. Be careful that you don’t eat too much, even though they are delicious. You most likely don’t want to have a food baby after these and portion control can make or break your recommended daily calorie intake.

Happy eating my friends!

Peace. xx.

-H.

Leave a Reply

