Things I am Grateful For

I am a whiner. I can be a huge brat – this is a fact. Sometimes certain aspects of my life don’t turn out the way that I hoped that they would and I harp on it. I have been trying my very best to just let go of these sentiments but also of these expectations. Setting expectations is good, I am goal-oriented and I make plans – but sometimes they are too lofty or we become too attached to them.

Some factors aren’t as perfect as they could be but I’ve just been asked to teach some ballet classes at my old studio. I always welcome a new opportunity. Perhaps my social circle has become a bit smaller lately but sometimes you have to shed negativity and things that hold you back. I’m not a Buddhist but Buddha said it best, “Pain is inevitable, but suffering is optional”. With that in mind, I know that some things will hurt me but I have it in my power to move on as to not suffer or let small trivialities affect me.

So when I feel like a brat and like the whole world is crashing down on me, I know that it is time for a reality check. I take a step back and think of the things that I am grateful for. While I take some pride in my body’s health and wellness, it is equally as important to check in with your mind’s. You can exercise until the cows come home but your mind is the centre of it all and it corresponds with your body so intimately.

Here is my list:

  1. I am grateful that I have the facility and ability to practice yoga and run.
  2. I am grateful for the fact that I received a University Education and was allowed to.
  3. I am grateful for the simple things – sipping on a tea at the end of a hard day.
  4. I am grateful for the smell and sound of the ocean. That is a sensation I can always feel when I am away from it and will never not miss.
  5. I am grateful for my family and all that they’ve given to me.
  6. I am grateful for that glass of wine on Friday evening after my work week.
  7. I am grateful for my boyfriend who I can go home and vent to about all of the stupid stuff that happened during my day.
  8. I am grateful for the roof over my head.
  9. I am grateful that my body listens to me and (knock on wood!) hasn’t been injured for quite some time.
  10. I am grateful for this quote from one of my favourite authors about gratitude, “Gratitude is a quality similar to electricity: it must be produced and discharged and used up in order to exist at all.” – William Faulkner

Image

What are you grateful for, readers?? Remember, your mental health is just as important as your physical health.

Take care my readers and have a great weekend!

Peace. xx.

-H.

P.S. I registered for my first half-marathon, it is in May. There is no turning back now! Ah! Scary!

Leave a Reply

