Vegan Spinach and Artichoke Dip

My apologies for not blogging as of late – I was suffering from writer’s block. That has been cured by my weekend cooking ventures as I had some girlfriends over last Saturday night for some wine and appetizers. One of my good friends is a vegan and another is allergic to gluten. This can make for some risky recipe undertakings but this time, I came out on top. I will share the other two recipes I made with you this coming week.

I made a vegan spinach and artichoke dip with the help of my lovely sister and it turned out fantastic. It was a great alternative to the heavy/cheesy traditional one that I am used to eating. It was really light and we ate it with Mary’s crackers (seriously, so delicious even though they smell a little peculiar) and gluten free/vegan nacho chips (and regular whole wheat crackers for those of us without special dietary needs).

I adapted my recipe from two different ones from Gluten-Free Goddess and She Knows Miso Vegan respective sites.

You will need the following ingredients:

  • 5 oz spinach chopped
  • 1/2 onion finely chopped
  • 3 cloves of pressed garlic
  • 1 cup of artichoke hearts drained and finely chopped (you could use the frozen kind too)
  • 3/4 cup of vegan sour cream
  • 1/2 cup of vegannaise
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons of sliced almonds
  • 1 tablespoon of Earth Balance vegan butter
  • Pinch of black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375ºF.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large skillet pan on medium heat. Add in onions and cook until they are translucent. Stir in garlic for 1 minute.
  3. Add artichokes and half of the spinach, let it sit.
  4. Using an electric hand mixer, combine the sour cream and vegannaise until it is smooth.
  5. Add the sour cream and vegannaise with the remainder of the spinach to the pan. Keep stirring until the spinach wilts.
  6. Pour into a pyrex dish (or whatever dish you have handy).

Image

For topping:

  1. In a small frying pan, heat the butter substitute and almonds until the vegan butter is melted.
  2. Pour on top of dip that is already in the dish.

Image

Put in the oven!

  1. Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes until it is bubbly around the edges.Image

And here’s the girls enjoying the dip!

Image

Happy cooking! You can find the ingredients at your local health food pantry store. Let me know how your dips turn out!

Peace. xx.

-H.

1 comment
  1. Shane Organ said:

    Mary’s Crackers are too good! I recently picked up the black pepper flavour and, well, I think I’m in love. I’ve been searching for a good wheat-free/gluten-free “dipper” for a while now. No need to look any further!

    As for the spinach dip, I must try. Looking forward to eating one that’s not so heavy on the stomach.

    Have you ever experimented with using yogurt over mayo in dips like these? I hear it also works well.

Leave a Reply

