Vegan White Bean Dip

As far as lean vegetarian protein is concerned, I love me some beans. I made a delicious (and easy!) white bean dip the other evening. I used gluten-free nacho chips to dip in it and also some of those Mary’s crackers that I previously raved about.

Beans are high in antioxidants, fibre, vitamin B, magnesium and zinc. Other than being good for your digestive system (Bart Simpson did call them the musical fruit after all), the soluble fibre in white beans is a blood sugar stabilizer. Not to mention that they can be pretty delicious and are a great source of protein that both vegans and vegetarians alike can enjoy. Now without further ado, here is the recipe adapted from the Vegan Project:

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of white beans (I used the Unico brand)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsps dried rosemary
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil
  • lemon juice from 1/2 of a freshly squeezed lemon

Instructions:

  1. Blend everything in a food processor. Or a blender if you are like me and sans a food processor

2. Blend until it is a smooth texture. I would liken it to a hummus consistency.

3. Scoop in to a bowl and enjoy with nacho chips or crackers!

 

Happy eating!

Peace. xx.

-H.

 

 

 

3 comments
  1. Britta said:

    This is such a good idea, sometimes I get bored with hummus, and this looks/sounds like the perfect alternative!!

    • freckledgreens said:

      I totally get bored with hummus and the store bought stuff can be so bland and heavy sometimes. I found that this dip was actually really light in my stomach, which was great. I also found this recipe for guacamole hummus that I’m keen to try out. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

