A tip for fending off junk food cravings

Let’s be real. We all have cravings. Or at least, I do and usually what I want to eat is bad for me. I think it necessary to indulge every once in a while. You can be disciplined but give yourself the treat that you deserve. It is not a crime to have a cookie if you worked out 5 times during the week. It is not going to sabotage you. There is a fine line between being obsessively regimented and being smart about your healthy eating habits. If you have a healthy lifestyle, then you can probably afford a little treat as long as it is not full of completely unnatural ingredients like corn syrup.

I read this great quote from Laird Hamilton that really resonated with me: “It’s been so long since I have eaten a pancake, I don’t even think about it anymore.”

That really got to me. This week someone brought some donuts in to work and I found myself not even being tempted to eat one. Then I read this quote and it hit me – I haven’t eaten one in so long that I don’t even think about it, or even twice about eating one. If you can cut out those junk foods that are truly awful for you, it is easy to live without them. If I’m going to indulge in junk food, I try to eat the most natural ones that I can. Maybe some frozen yogurt, veggie chips, a grilled cheese sandwich, completely unsalted and unbuttered popcorn or some gluten free nacho chips. If chocolate gives you your fix, here are some guilt-free ways to enjoy it: http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4439/4-GuiltFree-Ways-to-Eat-Chocolate.html.

Image

I try my very best to smart about my indulgences. I definitely like to have a glass of wine and I know that is one thing that I could be better about. But we all have to take baby steps. I am not preaching by any means, preaching is criticism’s best friend. I know that if you take care of your car, you fuel it with premium gas, so why then would you fuel your body with junk?

Image

On a side note for all of you vegans and vegetarians out there, check out Barnivoreit lists all spirits, wines and beers that are vegan and vegetarian friendly. You would be surprised to know how many aren’t out there.

I will leave you all on this wonderful Friday with a gorgeous quote from John Lennon about fear and love:

“There are two basic motivating forces: fear and love. When we are afraid, we pull back from life. When we are in love, we open to all that life has to offer with passion, excitement, and acceptance. We need to learn to love ourselves first, in all our glory and our imperfections. If we cannot love ourselves, we cannot fully open to our ability to love others or our potential to create. Evolution and all hopes for a better world rest in the fearlessness and open-hearted vision of people who embrace life.”

Peace and have a great weekend. xx.

-H.

3 comments
  1. I completely agree with everything you posted here! Dark chocolate is a power food for women and I try to eat 1 once per day, 70% cocoa content or higher. It really satisfies those sweet cravings.

  2. wartica said:

    These chocolate products seem like they will do the trick and help fight off the overeating syndrome:) Have a great weekend as well:)

  3. Britta said:

    Everything about this post is so true! Once you don’t eat something for a while, you don’t even crave it anymore! However, I don’t know if I could ever go a day without some dark chocolate – just toooooo good!

Leave a Reply

